Ok,so I'm not really a cat! But my name is Sam! I'm the Community Archaeology Trainee (or CAT for short) with Bristol Museums, Galleries & Archives.
PictureActually me!
I love everything about history! I studied my BA (Hons) Archaeology and MSc Dating and Chronology at Queen’s University Belfast. I have a variety of experience in commercial and research excavations across Ireland as well as Italy and London. Last summer I got the opportunity to teach archaeology students from across the world about archaeological excavation theory and techniques at the Achill Archaeological Field School in Ireland. I first came across community archaeology when I worked with Etruria Nova in Italy. I got to see how important it is for local people to understand and gain an appreciation of their local history and heritage. 


After teaching at Achill Archaeological Field School, I realised that I wanted to continue with this work and so I applied for the Council for British Archaeology Community Archaeology Training Placements.

PictureBristol Museum & Art Gallery ©Bristol Museums, Galleries & Archives
I am really enjoying my placement! I have started working with local community groups as well as the Bristol and Bath Young Archaeologists Club which meets at Bristol Museum & Art Gallery.

Over the course of the year I will be engaging with local community groups and the young people of Bristol to find out what they would like from the museum and organise events which they will find enjoyable.









Leave a Reply.